All Your Streaming Services Into Channels with JustPlayIt

Karson Enns
2 min readNov 22, 2020

--

This is a part of a challenge I’m doing, 28 concepts in 28 days. If you want to read about it head over to the Introduction.

I love watching TV, probably consume way too much of it. But often when I’m binging another season of “The Office” on auto-play, I get burnt out a few episodes in. Often times I just want something interesting playing in the background.

Today’s concept is JustPlayIt a service that connects with your different streaming services to create binge-able channels.

When I was younger, I’d come home and turn on cartoons. It would often be reruns, but I’d still be able to follow along with the season – so. I’d get to watch a few episodes of Pokemon, or Yu-Gi-Oh.

JustPlayIt will replicate this, if you want to watch some comedy episodes, JustPlayIt may play 2 episodes of “The Office”, then 2 Episodes of “How I Met Your Mother” and continue to play a set of tailored content in order.

Then the next night, JustPlayIt will remember what you had selected and continue to play you through seasons of TV.

It’s not random, you will be able to view and rate the content that will be shown on the channel.

In order to consolidate content across all your streaming services, JustPlayIt is a Mac app that you can install, and log into your streaming services.

📺 Connects to Multiple Streaming Services

After installing the Mac app you can connect multiple streaming services, such as:

  • Netflix
  • Crave
  • Hulu
  • Amazon Prime
  • Apple TV+
  • Even Youtube, allows you to select Youtube channels or playlists.

🍿Channels

If you’d like to watch Comedy, Action, Drama, Food, there are plenty of channels you can choose from.

As well some more specific channels like Marvel, or actor-based channels will be available.

--

--

Karson Enns

Writing about Engineering & Product. Redefining the healthcare experience at felix.ca