Book Blind Dates

Karson Enns
2 min readNov 8, 2020

This is a part of a challenge I’m doing, 28 concepts in 28 days. If you want to read about it head over to the Introduction.

Picking the next book to read can be difficult, there is a near unlimited number of options. I find myself searching for books to read more than I actually read at times.

A few years back I came across a Reddit post of a bookstore packaging up their books and selling them as a blind date with a book, I thought this was a super creative way to get people reading more, and even get people exposed to types of content they wouldn't regularly read.

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2013/05/go-on-a-blind-date-with-a-book/

This is when I came up with the idea of making this a service called Book Blind Dates. The user would start by answering a few questions, like favorite authors, genres, and movies you like. In the quiz, you can also connect with your GoodReads account to allow for more tailored recommendations.

Once you complete, you’ll be given an option of reading methods Ebook, Audiobook, Paperback, or even used books.

One major problem I can think of is pricing. Nobody wants to pay $12 for a book that ends up not suited for them. I think finding a way to reduce costs either by partnering with authors to offer cheaper digital or audiobook copies. Or leaning in harder to used books as those could be acquired for much cheaper.

Overall, this is a fun way to get people reading and exposed to new types of content. Eventually, this could work well with podcasts, tv shows, or movies.

Competitors

Good Reads
They do have a recommendation service, but I think it can go a lot further. It doesn't offer an end to end experience.

One Random Book
A pretty simple e-commerce store setup.

Book of the month
A pretty comprehensive service that shares a lot of the same concepts I’m thinking about here. Something that blind book dates could evolve into.

Libraries
This idea is actually suited extremely well for libraries, it’s a way to let people explore new books for free.

--

--

Karson Enns

Writing about Engineering & Product. Redefining the healthcare experience at felix.ca