Hush — Focus on Work

Karson Enns
2 min readNov 12, 2020

--

This is a part of a challenge I’m doing, 28 concepts in 28 days. If you want to read about it head over to the Introduction.

I get distracted pretty easily. I often use a combination of things to help me focus. White noise, and the Pomodoro technique.

Even then I’m bombarded with notifications that pull me out of focus. The Mac Do Not Disturb function mutes all my notifications for the entire day and doesn't seem to play nice with Slack noises. So I have to go in and set multiple apps to be muted if I just want to start focusing for a short period of time.

It’s tedious enough where I often forget to flip one of the switches and get distracted 10 minutes in.

Introducing Hush, a way to merge white noise, the Pomodoro technique, and muting your slack all in one.

🖥 Hush Mac App

Status Icon from B Farias on Noun Project

💬 Slack Integration

In addition to muting your Slack for a period of time using the API, Hush also sets a custom message.

⛔️ Do Not Disturb

Hush will automatically set and unset your do not disturb while hushed.

Competitors

Productivity is a competitive space, there are a lot of apps that do similar things here.

Muzzle

This app mutes your notifications when you’re on a screen share.

Be Focused

Classic Pomodoro app, it has a 25-minute countdown and the addition of reporting, but no slack or white noise integration.

Noizio

A white noise app for your mac, I’ve been used this for a while and actually edited the system files to include the specific white noise I like. But it doesn't seem to have a timer element.

--

--

Karson Enns

Writing about Engineering & Product. Redefining the healthcare experience at felix.ca