Limelight — An app for a single subreddit.

Karson Enns
Nov 7, 2020

--

This is a part of a challenge I’m doing, 28 concepts in 28 days. If you want to read about it head over to the Introduction.

Self-control is hard, going for that last 🍪 cookie or quick 😸 cat meme endorphin hit. Most of us struggle with our screen time, social media companies are built like slot machines to keep pulling you in. I’m constantly thrown into doomscroll spiral and I find it hard to shut off the 6-inch window and focus on what's around me.

One of my biggest culprits is Reddit, there is a near-infinite amount of useless content, every refresh is something new to scroll through. I’ve deleted it a few times, but I find myself going back to select communities. In particular, it’s /r/formula1. I want to get rid of the wider ecosystem of Reddit sometimes, but I’d like to continue to browse /r/formula1 where I get a lot of news and updates about the races.

This is where Limelight comes in, once you install the app you can only pick a single subreddit to browse. You’re able to login to your account, post comments, upvote, everything you do on the regular Reddit app, just only on one subreddit.

I only had time tonight to get the home screen done, not the full content page. I may come back and update this when I have a bit more time.

--

--

Karson Enns

Writing about Engineering & Product. Redefining the healthcare experience at felix.ca